win_20161018_11_19_46_pro

So why do I love fashion, clothing, beauty, etc.?

Hmmm…..great question.

Fashion and clothing to me has always been a way for me to creatively express myself…it has always been my way of being ME.

Fashion and clothing is a form of art – you get to put different pieces of clothing together to create something that exudes your inner creativeness. It allows you to be bold, eccentric, sassy, sexy, and chic (or whatever you prefer). It allows you to be YOU.

Early Life

child-28792_1280

Growing up, I always stood out…I never wore what was trendy but I always remained true to my personality style. And the result, I did get teased for not wearing what “was in”. But I didn’t care, because I refused to be a copy of someone else. God made me unique and different and I didn’t want any one to take that away from.

I used to make clothing for my dolls using old socks and old tees, sewing and creating clothing of art. Now that was fun, in my own world, doing what I love.

I was also my mom’s stylist…every day I would help her put outfits together that represented her. She would have the hardest time finding something to wear in the madness of clothing she had, which I thought was funny…because she would say, “I have nothing to wear.” LOL But I was able to turn nothing into somethings.

I also loved makeup, hair and nails. Even though I did go to the hairdresser and I got manicures and pedicures…I still loved doing it all myself. And every time I did I would feel free. The cool thing is that I could have went to cosmetology school but I didn’t because I didn’t know how lucrative and how I could have used that knowledge and skills to further grow and expand in my true dreams. Instead I went the route that I thought everyone expected I should take. (This is why I am so adamant about my children pursuing their dreams and not what others tell them to pursue)

All I knew is that I love clothing, fashion, and beauty but I really didn’t think about turning it into a career or business.

 

The Retail Life

store-984393_1280

In college I began to work in the world of retail. When I first started working in retail, it was because I love clothes. But each day as I created outfits for women, helping them feel more confident in their own skin; it allowed them to be vulnerable with me in telling their insecurities…as I reassured them that they are absolutely beautiful. I began to learn that a lot these women were looking for more than just cute, fashionable, trendy clothing but they were looking for someone to help them see truly who they are.

That’s when I realized that God gave me a gift of seeing the blessings in women. When I look at women the first thing I see is the beauty – her eyes, her smile, etc…and what I do is find a way to emphasize those assets. Let me explain, when most of us look in the mirror we tend to look at what we don’t like about our body and trying to figure out how to fix it – BUT- what stands out to me when I help other women is what makes her unique.

Every woman is beautiful and it is my mission to bring that awareness to all women, no matter her size, no matter her body type, no matter her nationality, no matter her age, no matter her race…she is Beautiful!

Beauty is…

rose-358650_1280

Beauty is more than the outer appearance, it is the internal being of how she sees herself. Beauty is in the mind, in the heart, in the spirit…and when they are not aligned, you see yourself in a distorted way, simply unrealistic. Your imaginations take over and you don’t see yourself as you truly are but what the distorted version shows you.

 

It is my purpose to help you change that mirror, help you clean those lenses because I want you to SEE what God sees.

 

Leave a Reply

